Szymon Morus

(orchestra conductor)

Szymon Morus, conductor from Poland, after graduating as a violinist under the tutelage of Andrzej Kacprzak, he studied symphonic and opera conducting with Wojciech Rajski at the Academy of Music in Gdansk.

The recipient of the President of the Council of Ministers’ Scholarship, Szymon Morus was also a nominee of the Prize of The Young Creator of Culture in 2012 and 2014. He has participated in many national and international chamber music courses. As a chairman of the Musica Giovane Pomeranian Artistic Association he co-operates with cultural institutions creating artistic events which combine music with poetry, theatre and visual arts. He is the founder and artistic director of The ‘Progress’ Chamber Orchestra.

As a conductor he collaborates with Polish Chamber Philharmonic, Polish Baltic Philharmonic, Rzeszów Philharmonic, Koszalin Philharmonic, Sinfonietta Consonus and Polish Baltic Opera. As an assistant conductor he co-operates with: Jerzy Maksymiuk, Jacek Kacprzyk, Wojciech Rajski, Tadeusz Kozłowski, Massimiliano Caldi and Ernst van Tiel.

Szymon Morus is also an initiator and organizer of the concert series titled ‘Gdańsk Music Impressions’ and ‘Music Gates Are Open’. Morus’s recordings include film music of Bruno Lohengren with The ‘PROGRESS’ Chamber Orchestra (July 2011) and, Kashubian Carols (November 2012) with the Discantus Choir.

In April 2013, he took part in the international project commemorating the 70th anniversary of the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising successfully presenting with The ‘PROGRESS’ Chamber Orchestra A German Requiem by J. Brahms and A Survivor from Warsaw by A. Schoenberg. In the same year he also recorded Explorations for Keyboard and Orchestra with Sinfonietta Consonus and the soloist Jordan Rudess – a legendary keyboardist of Dream Theatre. In March and April 2015,

Morus assisted Maestro Tadeusz Kozłowski in preparations for the premiere of the opera Otello in Baltic Opera in Gdansk. Szymon Morus has been constantly polpularizing contemporary music of young Polish composers premiering compositions such as Phantasmagoria, Fickle plans by Paweł Kwapiński, For all intelligible language I speak by Justyna Kowalska Lasoń, On the Edge of Conciousness by Przemysław Scheller, Kashubian Phonemes by Karol Nepelski or Rebeka – Kashubian opera by Michał Dobrzyński.

Sinfonietta Consonus Orchestra – official website

Follow us on:

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • hearthisat
  • SoundCloud Social Icon


© 2013-2020 by Vivaldi Metal Project